The construction of the Yagasala , ritual enclosure, requires precise measurement .The measurements are derived from the size of Yajamana. So the yagasala become ‘his own’


The ritual enclosure consists of two main areas


The Prachinavamsa  or  Old hall

The Mahavedi  or Great Altar space


The prachinavamsa


1. Domestic altar (garhapathya)  is a squre shaped altar, with two concentric circles inside.

2. The offerng altar(old)-ahavaniya.

3. The southern altar (dakshinagni)-: Inside there is a rectangle to the north and a semi circle to the south.

4. Vedi: Immediately west of the offering altar is the vedi. It has the shape of an hourglass. The corners are determined by measurement , but the curve by rule of thumb.

5. Utkara: made from clay  in the shape of a turtle.

6. Uchchistakhara: a small square made against the northern wall , with  a drainage (for washing some utensils).


The Mahavedi


1.   sadas (hall of recitation ): this having two doors on opposite sides.

2.   Agnidhriya shed : this is square shaped.

3.   Marjaliya shed : this is also square shaped.

4.   A gosala south of patnisala.

5.   Abavaniya or offering altar : Built in shape of bird

6.   Soma hall.



In side the mahavedi , the new offering Altar will be built to the east ,in the agniksethra or field of agni.

To the west there are two special sheds:


The Sadas or hall of recitation.

The Havirdhana ( simply Soma hall ) or Hall for preparing Soma oblations.



The old Hall, The hall of Recitation and the soma hall  together called Sala or Enclosure, which is having roofs and supported by 41-pole,of which 22 poles are for Old Hall.

Click Here








Copyright 2001 Comp & Wilton Technologies